Leadership & Community

Student Leadership

Our student leadership encompasses processes and structures for student representation and incorporates students’ participation in decision-making and the life of the school. Students develop skills in areas such as problem solving, listening, communication, collaboration, using their initiative, leading and motivating others, task management, decision making, technology, and running meetings.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.”

John Quincy

Student Wellbeing

 

At St. Catherine’s we believe that a child’s wellbeing is fundamental to holistic learning, life and Faith. Children who are happy, confident and who can form positive relationships with others are empowered to achieve positive learning outcomes. A positive sense of wellbeing supports a base for rich learning that enables young people to flourish.

At St Catherine’s it is expected that all members of the community show ‘Respect’, ‘Responsibility’ and act ‘Safely’. These values form the basis of our ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ program. ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ is an evidence-based framework for promoting positive behaviour and providing support in order to prevent misbehaviour.

Through our Wellbeing programs and strategies, we endeavour to encourage our children to develop healthy relationships and skills as they prepare to take their place in an ever-changing society, as self-respecting and responsible citizens. To this end we:

  • Implement Social Emotional Learning programs and strategies
  • Build a culture of healthy relationships
  • Provide personalised learning programs
  • Have established a whole school approach to behaviour management
  • Build partnerships between home and school
  • Develop Individual Behaviour Plans as required
  • Lunch time clubs to support student interest
  • Foster partnerships with community support groups
  • Provide an onsite qualified Psychologist available to students, parents and staff
  • Facilitate the Seasons program – The Seasons for Growth program is designed for children to assist them in managing and understanding the effects of significant change, loss and grief in their lives
  • Offer a School Chaplaincy service
  • Promote Values Education.

Parent Leaders

 

St. Catherine’s School Advisory Board

The St. Catherine’s Primary School Board is dedicated to acting as the parents’ voice in the development of the school. The Board provides a forum for discussion and policy making on matters concerning the operations of the school and the education and welfare of students in an advisory capacity to the Parish Priest and Principal. The school board has as its central purpose the realisation of the vision of the school and in building school community.

 

Parents & Friends Association

St. Catherine’s Parents & Friends Association is continuing to grow. The Association is led by central committee members and supported by our hardworking parent community.

The Association offers an opportunity for parents to gather and become involved in the life of the school and provides support for the school in areas such as – social functions for the school community, fundraising, special food days and various celebrations.

Staff Contacts

Father John Magri
Parish Priest
thomastownwest@cam.org.au

Parish Office
thomastownwest@cam.org.au
9465 4717

Mrs Tracey Brincat
Principal
principal@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Ange Ferro
Deputy Principal + Learning & Teaching Leader
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Executive Leadership Team

Mrs Tracey Brincat
Principal
principal@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Angela Ferro
Deputy Principal
Learning & Teaching Inquiry
Learning & Teaching Literacy (Yr 3 -6)
Student Wellbeing
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Anna Barber
Religious Education Leader
Learning & Teaching Religious Education & Education in Faith

abarber@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mr Shane Calthorpe
School Improvement Leader
Learning Diversity Leader
Learning & Teaching Maths Leader
Student Wellbeing
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Caroline Cianciosi
Executive Assistant to Principal 
School Bursar / Payroll (Mon – Wed)
Office Manager
carolinc@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

LOTE/Language Specialist
Mrs Lina Lauricella
llauricella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Performing Arts
Ms Suzanne Agius
sagius@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Physical Education
Mr Nicholas Coulstock
ncoulstock@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Visual Arts
Mrs Carmel Welch
cwelch@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Reading Recovery
Ms Holly Brown
hbrown@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning Diversity Leaders
Mr Shane Calthorpe
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Ms Hollie Sanderson (P-2)
hsanderson@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

ICT Leader
Ms Laura Fortunato
lfortunato@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning & Teaching Literacy Leaders
Ms Holly Brown (Prep – Yr 2)
hbrown@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Angela Ferro (Yr3 – Yr6)
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Family Engagement in Learning Leader
Mrs Brunina Moreno
bmoreno@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning Support Officers
Mrs Janan Atto
jatto@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Pauline Atwell
patwell@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Yana Demyanos
ydemyanos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Daniella Gamboni
dgamboni@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Jenny Jirjys
jjirjys@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Christine Markoski
cmarkoski@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Vicki Mazzarella
vmazzarella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Lena Palazzolo
lpalazzolo@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Dippa Reddy
dreddy@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Miss Sarah Watson
swatson@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Breakfast Club
Mrs Yana Demyanos
ydemyanos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Library Administration
Vicki Mazzarella
vmazzarella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Speech Pathologist
Adriana Oliveri
aoliveri@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Maintenance 
Mr Joseph Basile
jbasile@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Class Teachers

Prep
Mrs Brunina Moreno
bmoreno@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Carmel Welch
cwelch@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Prep
Miss Penny Vouziotis
pvouziotis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 1SL
Ms Hollie Sanderson
hsanderson@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Michelle Lepore
mlepore@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 1P
Mrs Marissa Papargiris
npapargiris@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 2CV
Mrs Angela Carrettin
acarrettin@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Lisa Valastro
lvalastro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 2B
Ms Rachel Butler
rbutler@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 3FL
Ms Laura Fortunato
lfortunato@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Michelle Lepore
mlepore@clalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 3D
Ms Radhini De Silva
rdesilva@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 4T
Mrs Lisa Tsobanopoulos
ltsobanopoulos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 4SD
Mrs Christine Saunders
csaunders@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Melissa Donis
mdonis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 5E
Miss Olivia Esposito
oesposito@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 5L
Mrs Fotini Lagkadiotis
flagkadiotis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 6J
Mrs Danielle Jordan
djordan@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 6W
Mr James Waters
jwaters@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au