Leadership & Community

Student Leadership

Our student leadership encompasses processes and structures for student representation and incorporates students’ participation in decision-making and the life of the school. Students develop skills in areas such as problem solving, listening, communication, collaboration, using their initiative, leading and motivating others, task management, decision making, technology, and running meetings.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.”

John Quincy

Student Wellbeing

 

At St. Catherine’s we believe that a child’s wellbeing is fundamental to holistic learning, life and Faith. Children who are happy, confident and who can form positive relationships with others are empowered to achieve positive learning outcomes. A positive sense of wellbeing supports a base for rich learning that enables young people to flourish.

At St Catherine’s it is expected that all members of the community show ‘Respect’, ‘Responsibility’ and act ‘Safely’. These values form the basis of our ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ program. ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ is an evidence-based framework for promoting positive behaviour and providing support in order to prevent misbehaviour.

Through our Wellbeing programs and strategies, we endeavour to encourage our children to develop healthy relationships and skills as they prepare to take their place in an ever-changing society, as self-respecting and responsible citizens. To this end we:

  • Implement Social Emotional Learning programs and strategies
  • Build a culture of healthy relationships
  • Provide personalised learning programs
  • Have established a whole school approach to behaviour management
  • Build partnerships between home and school
  • Develop Individual Behaviour Plans as required
  • Lunch time clubs to support student interest
  • Foster partnerships with community support groups
  • Provide an onsite qualified Psychologist available to students, parents and staff
  • Facilitate the Seasons program – The Seasons for Growth program is designed for children to assist them in managing and understanding the effects of significant change, loss and grief in their lives
  • Offer a School Chaplaincy service
  • Promote Values Education.

Parent Leaders

 

St. Catherine’s School Advisory Board

The St. Catherine’s Primary School Board is dedicated to acting as the parents’ voice in the development of the school. The Board provides a forum for discussion and policy making on matters concerning the operations of the school and the education and welfare of students in an advisory capacity to the Parish Priest and Principal. The school board has as its central purpose the realisation of the vision of the school and in building school community.

 

Parents & Friends Association

St. Catherine’s Parents & Friends Association is continuing to grow. The Association is led by central committee members and supported by our hardworking parent community.

The Association offers an opportunity for parents to gather and become involved in the life of the school and provides support for the school in areas such as – social functions for the school community, fundraising, special food days and various celebrations.

Staff Contacts

Father John Magri
Parish Priest
thomastownwest@cam.org.au

Parish Office
thomastownwest@cam.org.au
9465 4717

Mrs Tracey Brincat
Principal
Learning & Teaching Leader- Religious Education & Education in Faith
principal@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Ange Ferro
Deputy Principal
Learning & Teaching Leader- Inquiry
Student Wellbeing Leader
Family Engagement In Learning Leader
ICT Leader
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Executive Leadership Team

Mrs Tracey Brincat
Principal
principal@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Angela Ferro
Deputy Principal
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mr Shane Calthorpe
School Improvement Leader- Curriculum
Learning Diversity Leader
Learning & Teaching Leader- Maths
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Caroline Cianciosi
Executive Assistant to Principal 
School Bursar / Payroll (Mon – Wed)
Office Manager
carolinc@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Administration, Enrolments and First Aid 

Mrs Tamara Gullifa
tguliffa@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Specialist Teachers

LOTE/Community Languages Leader
Mrs Lina Lauricella
llauricella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Community Languages Teacher- Macedonian
Mrs Daniela Georgievski
dgeorgievski@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Community Languages Teacher- Punjabi
Mrs Kamal Kaur
kamalkakaur@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Community Languages Teacher- Vietnamese
Mrs Tien Vu
tvu@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Community Languages Teacher- Greek
Mrs Penny Vouziotis
pvouziotis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

STEM Specialists
Mrs Lisa Valastro (Prep & Junior)
lvalastro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Melissa Donis (Middle & /Senior)
mdonis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Physical Education (Prep & Year 1)
Miss Alessandra Minutoli
aminutoli@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Visual Arts
Mrs Carmel Welch (Long Service Leave Term 1)
cwelch@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Emily Cologero (Term 1 2022)
ecologero@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Monica Varga (Term 1 2022)
mvarga@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning and Teaching Leader and Library Administration
Ms Holly Brown
hbrown@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Student Services – Speech Pathologist
Mrs Adriana Henderson
ahendersoni@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Student Services – Student Psychology
Miss Anna Ishkova
aishkova@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Tutoring and Extension Teachers
Mrs Michelle Lepore
mlepore@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Miss Alessandra Minutoli
aminutoli@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Class Teachers

Prep Red
Miss Caitlin Braiser
cbraisier@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Prep Green
Mrs Marissa Trifiletti
mtrifiletti@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 1 Red
Mr Jacob Marchett
jmarchett@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 1 Green
Mrs Daniele Jordan
mjordan@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 2 Red
Ms Narelle Monteleone
nmonteleone@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 2 Green
Mr Matthew Laureano
mlaureano@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 3 Red
Ms Laura Fortunato
lfortunato@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 3 Green
Mrs Fotini Lagkadiotis
flagkadiotis@clalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 4 Red
Mrs Penny Vouziotis
pvouziotis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 4 Green
Mrs Lisa Tsobanopoulos
ltsobanopoulos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 5 Red
Mr James Waters
jwaters@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 5 Green
Miss Olivia Esposito
oesposito@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 6 Red
Miss Radhini De Silva
rdesilva@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Year 6 Green
Miss Rachel Butler
rbutler@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning Support Officers
Mrs Janan Atto
jatto@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Lena Palazzolo
lpalazzolo@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Daniella Gamboni
dgamboni@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Miss Sarah Watson
swatson@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Maria Tornatora
mtornatora@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Maintenance
Mr Joseph Basile
jbasile@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au