Leadership & Community

Student Leadership

Our student leadership encompasses processes and structures for student representation and incorporates students’ participation in decision-making and the life of the school. Students develop skills in areas such as problem solving, listening, communication, collaboration, using their initiative, leading and motivating others, task management, decision making, technology, and running meetings.

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.”

John Quincy

Student Wellbeing

 

At St. Catherine’s we believe that a child’s wellbeing is fundamental to holistic learning, life and Faith. Children who are happy, confident and who can form positive relationships with others are empowered to achieve positive learning outcomes. A positive sense of wellbeing supports a base for rich learning that enables young people to flourish.

At St Catherine’s it is expected that all members of the community show ‘Respect’, ‘Responsibility’ and act ‘Safely’. These values form the basis of our ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ program. ‘School Wide Positive Behaviour Support’ is an evidence-based framework for promoting positive behaviour and providing support in order to prevent misbehaviour.

Through our Wellbeing programs and strategies, we endeavour to encourage our children to develop healthy relationships and skills as they prepare to take their place in an ever-changing society, as self-respecting and responsible citizens. To this end we:

  • Implement Social Emotional Learning programs and strategies
  • Build a culture of healthy relationships
  • Provide personalised learning programs
  • Have established a whole school approach to behaviour management
  • Build partnerships between home and school
  • Develop Individual Behaviour Plans as required
  • Lunch time clubs to support student interest
  • Foster partnerships with community support groups
  • Provide an onsite qualified Psychologist available to students, parents and staff
  • Facilitate the Seasons program – The Seasons for Growth program is designed for children to assist them in managing and understanding the effects of significant change, loss and grief in their lives
  • Offer a School Chaplaincy service
  • Promote Values Education.

Parent Leaders

 

St. Catherine’s School Advisory Board

The St. Catherine’s Primary School Board is dedicated to acting as the parents’ voice in the development of the school. The Board provides a forum for discussion and policy making on matters concerning the operations of the school and the education and welfare of students in an advisory capacity to the Parish Priest and Principal. The school board has as its central purpose the realisation of the vision of the school and in building school community.

 

Parents & Friends Association

St. Catherine’s Parents & Friends Association is continuing to grow. The Association is led by central committee members and supported by our hardworking parent community.

The Association offers an opportunity for parents to gather and become involved in the life of the school and provides support for the school in areas such as – social functions for the school community, fundraising, special food days and various celebrations.

Staff Contacts

Staff Leaders

Father Aurelio Fragapane
Parish Priest – Administrator
stclarettown@netspace.net.au
Parish Office
thomastownwest@cam.org.au
9465 4717

Mrs Karen Robertson
Principal
krobertson@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au
principal@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Ange Ferro
Deputy Principal + Learning & Teaching Leader
aferro@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Leadership Team

Mrs Anna Barber
Learning & Teaching, Religious Education & Education in Faith 
abarber@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mr Shane Calthorpe
Mathematics Leader and Learning Diversity Leader
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Ms Aislinn Horsley
Learning and Teaching Leader
ahorsley@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Penny Voutziotis
Wellbeing Leader
pvoutziotis@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Teaching Staff

LOTE
Mrs Lina Lauricella
llauricella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Physical Education
Mr Shane Calthorpe
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Performing Arts
Ms Suzanne Agius
sagius@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Visual Arts
Mrs Carmel Welch
cwelch@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Reading Recovery
Ms Holly Brown
hbrown@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Learning Diversity Leaders
Ms Hollie Hazelwood and Mr Shane Calthorpe
hhazelwood@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au
scalthorpe@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

ICT Leader
Ms Laura Fortunato
lfortunato@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Library Administration
Vicki Mazzarella
vmazzarella@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Special Needs Support
Mrs Lena Palazzolo
lpalazzolo@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Pauline Atwell
patwell@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Yana Demyanos
ydemyanos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Daniella Gamboni
dgamboni@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Janan Atto
jatto@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Dippa Reddy
dreddy@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Christine Markoski
cmarkoski@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Special Needs Support and Breakfast Club
Christine Markoski
cmarkoski@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Mrs Yana Demyanos
ydemyanos@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au 

Office Manager
Mrs Caroline Cianciosi
carolinc@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au

Speech Pathologist
Adriana Oliveri
aoliveri@sclalorwest.catholic.edu.au